Powershell scripts (Installed programs and running/not running services)

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Developers, Moderators

enrikio

Powershell scripts (Installed programs and running/not running services)

Post by enrikio »

Hello,

I am pretty new to Cacti and have recently deployed it to Ubuntu Server with some Windows Server devices that successfully show graphs of disks, cpu...now I want a little more out of it besides default "templates".

Is there any way to implement powershell scripts into cacti server that would monitor and get data about installed programs and running/not running services that should be running on Windows Servers 2016+.

Upon looking into this I found out that you should place scripts in following folder on ubuntu cacti server:
/var/www/html/cacti/scripts

Example powershell script for installed programs i would like to use (I dropped it into /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/GetInstalledPrograms.ps1):

# PowerShell script to get a list of installed programs on Windows
# Get the list of installed programs
$installedPrograms = Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product | Select-Object Name, Version, Vendor
# Output the results in a format suitable for Cacti
foreach ($program in $installedPrograms) {
Write-Output "$program.Name,$program.Version,$program.Vendor"
}

Then i created new Data Input Method With type "Script/command" and input string "/var/www/html/cacti/scripts/GetInstalledPrograms.ps1".
In output fields I Added name ProgramInfo.

Then I created device template WindowsProgramsInfo, that points to internal data source name "ProgramInfo", that I created previosly.

Is this the right approach so far and what steps should i make next so I can see this data next to my graphs in device tree.

Many thanks!
jab50

Re: Powershell scripts (Installed programs and running/not running services)

Post by jab50 »

From my attempts its not so simple.